“Creativity is your best makeup skill, don’t be afraid to experiment.” – Pat McGrath, makeup artist (via azquotes)

In high school, Urban Decay released its Naked3 Palette, a pink hued set of eyeshadow colors.  To my disappointment, I quickly realized that only ⅓ of the total colors looked good on my skin color, let alone showed up on it.  Seeing how limited this expensive palette was, with a heavy heart, I didn’t purchase it because I didn’t want to spend money on something I could rarely use.

On my 21st birthday, my best friend gifted me with Eye shadow x 9: Burgundy Times Nine, from MAC Cosmetics, amongst other beautiful things from Sephora.  Its colors were similar to the Naked3 Palette, but also very different.

♓️

True to its name, it was a set of nine colors, half-glittery and half-matte.  Because of how chic the design was, I didn’t touch it for a good month, before I caved into the temptation of trying it on.

Right off the bat, I noticed that it was a lot more pigmented than any of the Naked Palettes, a pleasant surprise.  Not to say that Urban Decay’s aren’t pigmented, but MAC’s was noticeably more stronger in color.  If I used my normal amount of eyeshadow to paint one eyelid, I now could use the same amount to color in both lids with my new MAC palette.

♓️

I tried, using the only way I know how, to maximize the colors of my MAC palette onto my eyes, and written below is the steps I used to achieve this.

  1. Wash your face with your preferred method of cleansing – mine’s the double cleansing method described in +cleanse+.
  2. Prepare your eyelids using your favorite eyeshadow primer.  I exclusively use the Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion – Anti-Aging*.
  3. Color your lids with the color on the MAC palette that most closely resembles your skin color; this may sound weird as no one naturally has a chemically made pink tone.  If possible, you may also consider starting off using a basic eyeshadow color that is actually similar to your skin tone.  I personally mix a color from the Naked and Naked Smoky Palettes to achieve my skin tone color.
  4. eyeThe basic eyeshadow rules (via You’ve got STYLE!!!!!).  Keeping in mind this helpful picture, you should transition from light to dark as you go towards the outer corners of your eyes.  You may consider mixing the glittery colors with the matte colors to make everything pop out a little more.  TIP: to make this a more dramatic and smoky look, like for the an evening event, I would consider simply coloring outwards, or incorporating your go-to smoky eyeshadow colors, though it may be helpful to pick out darker purples, as seen in the Naked Palette.
  5. At the midpoint of your eyelid, dab the glittery orangey-gold color to make your eyes brighter.  I personally love gold glitter, so I add more, using the “Half-Baked” color in the Naked Palette.
  6. OPTIONAL: Draw in your eyeliner and put on mascara, though it if you use liquid liner, you may want to wait a minute before moving onto your lashes.  I swear by Kat Von D’s Tattoo Liner in Trooper (Black) for a precise cat eye, while Bobbi Brown’s Long-Wear Gel Eyeliner in Black Ink emphasizes provides a strong black color, as well as working well with your upper waterline.  I currently use a drugstore curler, and while it isn’t perfect, it does get the job done.  I use two mascaras – Benefit’s they’re real! lengthening mascara in Black and Maybelline’s Volum’ Express The Mega Plush Mascara ‑ 270 Blackest Black; I really should start investing in a lash primer to make my lashes look longer.
  7. Dab a sparkly white color from your eyeshadow collection to the innermost corner of your eye.  I can’t tell if it actually makes your eyes larger, but they definitely make them look brighter!

♓️

In Step 2, it’s imperative you use an eyeshadow primer before applying your makeup.  Like every other millennial who saw primer as superfluous and a waste of money, I noticed that around lunch time, or three hours into wearing my eye makeup, it would become duller and almost dirty looking.  Hating the way it looked, I decided to invest in primer and haven’t looked back since.

If you notice, I also use a lot of UD products (Urban Decay, please notice me and send me goodies 🖤!!)  I only use the UD anti-aging eyeshadow primer because all other primers, even primers from UD all left weird track marks on my lids, making me look like I had a skin condition or something.  In regards to my Naked Palettes, my friend gifted me with the Naked Palette for my birthday, while I bought the Naked Smoky Palette when Urban Decay was having a promotion, selling them for 50% off.

♓️

I know that it may seem out of place in June to wear pink eyeshadow because after all, Burberry made pink eyeshadow cool back in their 2015 S/S collection, and we’re almost upon 2018 S/S collections soon.  However, fashion rules are set to be followed, but also to be broken.  Like my dad sarcastically remarked, “Who wouldn’t love to go out looking like they just got punched in the eyes?”

xoxo,

the girl who wishes makeup wasn’t so expensive

p.s. Listed below are links to the brands mentioned in this post.  Hopes this helps!

  • Urban Decay Naked3 Palette – Urban Decay, Sephora
  • MAC Cosmetics Eye Shadow x 9: Burgundy Times Nine – MAC Cosmetics, Nordstrom
  • Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion – Anti-Aging – Urban Decay, Sephora (I use and prefer the one without the wand applicator, but I don’t think UD still makes them squeezable anymore 😭)
  • Urban Decay Naked Palette – Urban Decay, Sephora (In my opinion, the Naked Palette works well with Asian skin tones, much more than the Naked2 Palette)
  • Urban Decay Naked Smoky Palette – Urban Decay, Sephora (I think this is the most pigmented amongst all the Naked Palettes – future post idea?)
  • Kat Von D Tattoo Liner in Trooper (Black) – Sephora
  • Bobbi Brown Long-Wear Gel Eyeliner in Black Ink – Sephora
  • Benefit they’re real! lengthening mascara in Black – Benefit, Sephora
  • Maybelline Volum’ Express The Mega Plush Mascara ‑ 270 Blackest Black – Amazon, or your nearest drug store
Image Credit: MAC Cosmetics
5 thoughts on “+pink+

Leave a Reply

