“Far away / You got me standing in the outfield / By the way / Sometimes it’s almost like you’re not real / I always swore that I would get to you some day / I’m getting closer, but I’m still so far away / You got me standing in the outfield”The Night Game, The Outfield (2017)

Before I start off today’s blog, I just wanted to share a funny story of how I ended up going to see The Night Game live.  During Jasmine’s concert, my friend asked me if I wanted to see The Night Game the next day.  To no surprise, I read this as a night game show, and since I had never gone to a taping before, I excitedly responded that I was down to go, and asked her what kind of game we were going to see.  She was confused at my question and repeated herself, which was when I realized she meant Martin Johnson’s newest band, and not something along the lines of Jeopardy.  Oops.

♓️

I would call The Night Game rock music of the future because we are not yet worthy to receive such a gift.  Considering how most people mindlessly listen to the Top 40 in a loop, most of us aren’t ready to listen to Martin’s great vocal talents that are on display in a way that’s very different from Boys Like Girls.

♓️

The concert was scheduled to begin at 9:45 p.m., but we all know that these times are always subject to change.  In our case, the concert began around 10:00 p.m., though we did get to see Martin and the band tune their instruments at 9:30 p.m..  A sign in front of the Mercury Lounge, our venue said that a band was scheduled to play at 10:45 p.m., which meant The Night Game would perform for an hour max.  Realistically, it made no sense to get upset that they wouldn’t perform for hours because they don’t have millions of songs under their name yet, but who doesn’t want to listen to them forever?

Apparently, the Mercury Lounge’s policy allows patrons 21+ to go in at 8:00 p.m., while everyone else has to wait until 9:15 p.m.
21+ write band vs. under 21 Sharpie x-marks.
Horrible lighting, but look who’s getting ready!!  The stage oddly reminded me of SNL musical guest performances.
I never understood why guitarists need that pedal thing – it isn’t a piano.
“Look, each and everyone one of you is love.” Just kidding – he was singing.A picture with Martin outside that didn’t make the Instagram cut.  We waited an hour to get a picture with him.
Another one that didn’t make the cut – thank you to the people who kind of photobombed in the back.
Last one that didn’t make the cut, but wow, how did I manage to keep the same face in all of them without getting a locked jaw or something?

♓️

The concert was a lot of fun, albeit short, though the highlight of the night was when I got to talk to Martin in person.  Well, if we’re being honest, I didn’t say more than “hi” to him, waving and smiling at him, but he knows that this was basically a conversation, right?  How many can say that they have exchanged sounds with a celeb before?  I guess after Jasmine and all, I’m on my way to becoming famous.  HOPEFULLY.

Random fact but the jacket Martin had on was a purchase just hours before the shoe from a thrift shop.  Even if he is from Boston, that is so New York.  We can talk about how great the luxury brands on Fifth Ave. are, but we all know that the coolest things are found in a vintage thrift shop.  Before I start ranting about how great thrift shops are, I’ll just end here.

xoxo,

the girl who had a “conversation” with Martin Johnson

p.s. My friend is amazing and she recorded one of the songs from that night and posted it on YouTube.  Check it out here!  Thanks Justine!!

IMAGE CREDIT: YouTube
Leave a Reply

