Fashion fades, only style remains the same.

Coco Chanel, French fashion designer and businesswoman (1883-1971)

Ever since I was little, I always wanted to own a Burberry trench coat.  I know other brands make their own versions of it, but there isn’t anything more iconic than having a Burberry trench coat with your initials monogrammed on the inside.  When I was younger, my mother promised me that once I graduated college that she would buy me one.  As I have only one more year of school left, hopefully it’ll be a dream come true in May 2018 🖤!

♓️

I always dreamt of being an adult, tall and able to wear the form-flattering trench coat featured in the Burberry ads, or during a fashion week collection, paired with a blanket-like poncho.  I would jealousy stare at pictures of models, celebs, and fashion bloggers who wore this consistently trend piece, and would turn green with envy whenever someone wore their trench coat on the streets of NYC.

To me, everything about the trench coat was appealing, from the history of the material to its waist slimming design.  The trench coat is extremely versatile: it can be worn as a jacket dress or simply as a fashionable yet practical piece during a rainy day.  For its two-grand price tag, it’s certainly an investment that every fashion inclined woman should make.

♓️

The trench coat has a unique story – Thomas Burberry, the creator of the gabardine material used for trench coats, never intended to make these coats for the fashion industry.  Trench coats were originally made to serve as the standard Army uniform and apparel for the United Kingdom due to its fabric being waterproof and sturdy.

However, as we know about army inspired clothing, they almost always end up in the mainstream fashion scene.  Even today, the army green color and camouflage pattern are used as fashion statements by many designers, and are eagerly worn by customers who want to flaunt off their knowledge of the ever-changing trends.

♓️

Even if Burberry didn’t intend to make this for fashion, it’s amazing how he created something that transcended time.  Very few fashion pieces have managed this feat, capturing the hearts of fashion people and regular folk alike, like Chanel’s No. 5 perfume and Hermès Birkin bag.

Hopefully I’ll be a new owner of a trench coat as I make my own journey to find an accidental mistake that spurs the success of my own fashion house.

xoxo,

the girl who dreams of making an iconic fashion piece

IMAGE CREDIT: Burberry
Leave a Reply

