“You dress to impress,” I said approvingly.

“No, Angel.”  He leaned in, his teeth softly grazing my ear.  “I undress to impress.”

Becca Fitzpatrick, Finale (2012)

My college’s party scene is very limited.  If you don’t have a good fake, or a fake at all, then you’re probably at a frat party, dorm drinking, or staying in.  For those of age or with good fakes, we’re probably at one of the college dorms by campus.  Though, my weekend fun may disappear for my senior year, as two of them have closed this summer.

♓️

Something that I find funny if that even though we do the same thing every weekend, generally seeing the same crowd, we still make an effort for dress up.  Of course, there are those who just wear whatever when going out.  For the most part, despite seeing the same people, we still dress to impress.  Mostly.

I feel like the desire to dress up comes from your personality or desire to appeal to the opposite gender.  Truthfully, there are times when I dress up just to hear compliments about my look 😅.  As a stereotypical New Yorker, however, I love dressing up whenever I can.

♓️

The Pregame

My friends and I typically stick to a routine when going out.  We first pregame while getting ready at our place.  We then Uber to another friend’s place, convening with other people, and hang out, before we think it’s a good time to head out.

While socializing is always fun, going through the same motions every weekend can get monotonous at times.  Thankfully, Instagram exists, so each pregame will always be slightly different from the week before.

♓️

On April Fool’s, my friend and I went as accidental twinsies.  We both wore high waisted jeans, a crop tank top, and sneakers, though I wore a choker, and she had braids.  The weather didn’t warrant tank tops, but given how hot it gets in the bars, it was better to be safe than sorry.

So, for anyone who follows my Instagram, they’ll notice that there’s a distinct pattern or feel.  I purposely tried to craft my brand more artsy and light related because as a décor lover, I’m obsessed with light fixtures.  With my friend as my photographer, armed with her iPhone 7’s great camera, we took many pictures, posed and candid to see which came out the best.

♓️

 The Photoshoot Sesh

My go to candid pose.
I wish this was clearer so I could’ve posted it on Instagram.Thinking about how to pose without looking like I’m posing 🙃.
Sassy, but my head’s cut off.
Do I look presentable?And presenting – the light.
My hair looks like a mop.
Shh – I’m posing.

♓️

While none of these pictures made the Instagram cut, I still think that they’re wonderfully taken photos.  And though the lighting in some of them can be harsh at times, oh well – you can’t always look perfect 🤷🏼‍♀️.

Also for anyone who’s wondering, my makeup is basically a variation of +pink+.

xoxo,

the girl who loves lights way too much

p.s. Here’s a list of all the places that I bought my outfit from!  There aren’t any links because brands no longer sell the stuff I own, #ripNastyGal

  • Nasty Gal – Maroon Knit Crop Tank Top
  • Abercrombie & Fitch – Black Natural Waist High Jeans
  • Grey Vans
  • Urban Outfitters – White Lace Multi-Choker

 

 

Leave a Reply

