I use products from my dermatologist but the best things you can do for your skin are not smoke, always use sunscreen, and drink a lot of water.

Sela Ward, American actress, author, producer (1956-present)

I hate the summer.

There I said it.  Honestly, I dislike it when it’s over 70 degrees, Fahrenheit obviously.  Though, imagine if it was 70˚C – well, can you even imagine that?

♓️

The reason why I dislike it so much is because for most of the year, we easily live a lie.  We say that we don’t need sunscreen when it’s snowing out.  We also tell the same lie when it’s partly cloudy out.  Deep down, we all know that we shouldn’t live like this, but we still do anyways.

♓️

The Unwanted Truths

Dermatologists and untrained beauty lovers all agree that there is never an excuse to not put on sunscreen daily.  And this shouldn’t be a surprise, considering all that we learned about the sun back in elementary and middle school.  The weather never actually deters UV rays from penetrating our skin, even if it may seem like the clouds cushion us from its dangerous effects.

Regardless of the weather, UV rays will find a way to damage your skin.  We trick ourselves into thinking that the pristine white snow protects us from the sun during the winter, but that’s not true.  Case in point: people getting sunburns and momentary blindness from the sun reflecting from the snow.

♓️

Summer Solstice

Unlike winter, summer is much more obvious about sunscreen application because of its ties to the beach.  We all had the same antsy 10-minute routine of lathering ourselves n a thick coat of protectant because our parents refused to let us go into the water otherwise.  In hindsight, I feel like parents mostly did that to hear less complaints about getting sunburnt, but maybe that’s just me 🙃.

As we end June and approach July, living wrinkle-free is a concern for many, including myself.  Crow’s feet, age spots, etc. are all things I want to stave off for as long as I can.  Studies have shown that increased sun exposure triggers early onset wrinkles, as well as increase your chance for skin cancer.  I’m all for a healthy tan, but I don’t find looking old to outweigh looking constantly beach ready.

♓️

Summer Skincare

The downsides of my trusty cleansing method is that it’s always humid in NYC during the summer.  Wiping off makeup, dirt, and sunscreen after a long day never feels satisfying because there’s a lingering greasy and sticky feeling, even if my face is completely clean.

♓️

Steps to Having a Protected Face

Note: many of the products mentioned and explained will be the same as my cleansing method – sorry for the redundancy!
  1. Working up a generous lather using your cleanser, wash your face in lukewarm water, then cold water, before patting it dry with your hands. I use the Shiseido® Ibuki Gentle Cleanser, which works well with my sensitive skin.
  2. Next, use a swipe and pat method to effectively get your toner into your face; swipe a bit of toner onto your face, then pat it in.  I use the Shiseido® Softening Concentrate.
  3. Massage in the serum into your face, then put on your eye cream with your ring fingers. I’m currently trying the Caudalie® Vinoperfect Radiance Serum, though I’m experimenting to see which serum works the best for me.  I also use the Shiseido® Ibuki Eye Correcting Cream.
  4. **Put on the sunscreen before putting on the moisturizer.** Think of moisturizer as the top coat of your face, which locks in the polish you just put on your face.  I use the Shiseido® Urban Environment UV Protection Cream Broad Spectrum SPF 40 For Face/Body, which is watery, rather than the Shiseido® Urban Environment Oil-Free UV Protector Broad Spectrum SPF 42. For Face, though both work well because I don’t like creamier makeup products.  I also use the Shiseido® Ibuki Refining Moisturizer.
  5. After every two hours, blot your face, then apply a new coat of sunscreen. I just use the cheapest blotting tissue available.  TIP: If you’re in a bind, you can also use toilet seat covers; they work just like blotting tissues in collecting excess oil.

♓️

 

Despite the sunscreen’s watery consistency, I still dislike its vaguely oily feeling.  I wish someone had a product that didn’t leave that lingering feeling, without causing me to break out.  Hint hint, Shiseido®, you’re breaking my wallet, but no one else seems to do the job so please create a better sunscreen product 🙏🏻!

xoxo,

the girl who’s scared of getting wrinkles (and getting old)

p.s. I forgot to mention this in the steps, but you must apply proper care to your neck as well!!  Everyone says that the easiest markers of aging are found in your hands and neck, so take good care of them!

p.p.s.  Here are the links to the products mentioned in this post!  Hopefully these products work well for you too 😁!

  • Shiseido® Ibuki Gentle Cleanser – Shiseido, Macy’s, Sephora (The Ibuki line is targeted for millennials with relatively steady complexions, who need normal protection from the harsh environment)
  • Shiseido® Softening Concentrate – Shiseido, Macy’s, Sephora (The Ibuki line is targeted for millennials with relatively steady complexions, who need normal protection from the harsh environment)
  • Caudalie® Vinoperfect Radiance Serum – Caudalie, Sephora (Not much to say about this as of right now, but we’ll see after I’m done with my sample.)
  • Shiseido® Ibuki Eye Correcting Cream – Shiseido, Macy’s, Sephora (The Ibuki line is targeted for millennials with relatively steady complexions, who need normal protection from the harsh environment)
  • Shiseido® Urban Environment UV Protection Cream Broad Spectrum SPF 40 For Face/Body – Shiseido, Macy’s, Sephora (Has a watery consistency.  The Urban Environment line is targeted for the similar age group as the Ibuki line.)
  • Shiseido® Urban Environment Oil-Free UV Protector Broad Spectrum SPF 42. For Face – Shiseido, Macy’s, Sephora (Has a creamier consistency.  The Urban Environment line is targeted for the similar age group as the Ibuki line.)
  • Shiseido® Ibuki Refining Moisturizer – Shiseido, Macy’s, Sephora (The Ibuki line is targeted for millennials with relatively steady complexions, who need normal protection from the harsh environment)
IMAGE CREDIT: Nordstrom
Leave a Reply

