Any girl who likes watching movies would like to work in them and would want to do all of that.  I’m also one of them.  But people know me for badminton and love me for it.  So I’d stick to it right now.  But maybe after badminton, I’ll think about it.

Saina Nehwal, Indian professional badminton singles player (1990-present)

Two Thursdays ago, I attended a film festival for the first time in my life.  The film festival in question was the New York Asian Film Festival (NYAFF), which was hosted by the Film Society of Lincoln Center.  I discovered such an event existed while searching for things to do this summer.

♓️

The film showing that I attended that evening was The Vanishing Time: A Boy Who Returned, a South Korean fantasy film which was released back in November.  The film’s premise is

Four young kids, including Sung-Min (played by Lee Hyo-Je) and Soo-Rin (played by Shin Eun-Soo), take a trip to the mountain together.  They plan to sneak into a restricted area to watch a planned explosion.  The next day, Soo-Rin is the only one found.  A few days later, Sung-Min (played by Gang Dong-won) appears again, but he is not the same 13-year old boy.  Sung-Min is now an adult.

While this isn’t necessarily a comedy film, I thought that it had its funny moments, like the scene with an older Gang Dong-won.  The aging process used on his face was like the epilogue scene in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2, where Daniel Radcliffe and crew play older adult versions of their movie counterparts, with the help of makeup and CGI.  Obviously, it isn’t convincing, and with Gang Dong-won’s distinct features, it added to the unintended (?) comedy aspect of the film for me.

♓️

Besides the films, one of the perks of attending a film festival is the opportunity to dress up.  Attendees wore a range of styles, from crisp white collared shirts to flowy skater dresses.  My friends dubbed my look as an effortless off-duty model look, for my loose white shirt and denim on denim choice.  While it looked put together, the downside of wearing denim on denim was the infamous NYC humidity, which made me feel sticky and gross at times.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

♓️

Get the Look

Top | Urban Outfitters

Pants | Urban Outfitters

Jacket | Helmut Lang

Bag | Kate Spade New York

Sandals | Tommy Hilfiger

 

♓️

Overall, my experience was a great one, as I got to see a celebrity (Gang Dong-won was there to receive an award), and I did end the night with good food.  For anyone who wishes to visit New York, I definitely recommend checking out film festivals because they aren’t something you want to miss out on.

xoxo,

the girl who still wears denim on denim in 2017

Leave a Reply

