Life is such a comedy, so just spare me the drama

The All-American Rejects, Sweat (2017)

Per usual, Thursday evening was spent attending a concert.  This time, it was the Dashboard Confessional, The All-American Rejects, and The Maine Tour, which was held at the Central Park SummerStage.

♓️

Even before I reached Central Park, it was obvious who was attending.  Lenox Hill natives generally don’t have fuchsia colored hair and multiple piercing when they have their pick of Chloé or Miu Miu.  However, it wasn’t just scene kids there – they were standing side by side Wall Streeters also waiting to relive their childhoods again.  As Tyson pointed out, we weren’t in our teens anymore; we were all 20- and 30-year olds with grown-up jobs, but still ready to have fun.

Besides the performers, a Central Park SummerStage is made up of two things: beer and boxed water.  While there was a tap water stations to refill your bottles and stay hydrated, I feel like you aren’t really at a SummerStage unless you see your fair share of beer and boxed water.

♓️

The Setlist

The event was broken up into three parts, one for each band, with 30-minute breaks in between to change the instruments and backdrop.  The crew’s efficiency was pretty incredible and the show went without a hitch.

Part I: The Maine

  1. Black Butterflies & Déjà Vu
  2. Am I Pretty?
  3. Bad Behavior
  4. How Do You Feel?
  5. Like We Did (Windows Down)
  6. Girls Do What They Want
  7. Ice Cave

Part II: The All-American Rejects

  1. Dirty Little Secret
  2. Stab My Back
  3. My Paper Heart
  4. Swing, Swing
  5. I Wanna
  6. Kids in the Street
  7. Mona Lisa (When the World Comes Down) – acoustic version
  8. Sweat
  9. Move Along
  10. Close Your Eyes
  11. Gives You Hell

Part III: Dashboard Confessional

  1. Vindicated
  2. The Sharp Hint of New Tears
  3. The Good Fight
  4. Saints and Sailors
  5. Remember to Breathe
  6. Love Yourself (Cover, ORIG. Justin Bieber)
  7. Just Like Heaven (Cover, ORIG. The Cure)
  8. Stolen
  9. We Fight
  10. The Places You Have Come to Fear the Most
  11. Ghost of a Good Thing
  12. Heart Beat Here
  13. Don’t Wait
  14. Again I Go Unnoticed
  15. Screaming Infidelities
  16. Hands Down

♓️

What I Liked

How my nostalgia bone was tickled.  At times, I wasn’t able to sing along because I couldn’t stop smiling.  I still can’t get over the amazing feeling of unity you feel with the crowd when everyone sings in unison – it’s an incredible high.  And while we physically looked different from 10 years ago, we were still carried the emotions that made listening to these bands so great.

I also really loved the mobility.  After The Maine’s bit ended, people started abandoning their spots, much to my happiness.  I was easily able to move closer to the stage for AAR without catching dirty looks from other people who wanted to get closer as well.

♓️

What I Didn’t Like

The weather.  I felt my sunscreen lotion melting off my face and my backless shirt barely helped cool me down, when the sun was directly on your face and there were tons of people around you.  At times, you wanted to get hit by a water bottle thrown by John because of how refreshing it was.

The venue was a disappointment.  Don’t get me wrong – I love the location and Central Park.  However, word on the street was that the bands couldn’t linger after their sets ended because of rules set in place.  We weren’t able to get pictures with The Maine (especially John) because of this annoying rule.  Though, all was not lost because I did manage to get pictures with Tyson by 5th and 72nd.

I'll keep you my dirty little secret 🖤 Feeling 2005 tonight

A post shared by Elizabeth N. Chi (@elizarie) on

♓️

Overall

Despite the weather, and not being able to see John after the show, it was still a great concert.  I feel like something people don’t recognize about millennials is that we’re notorious for throwbacks.  We just love reminiscing our younger days, and making new memories based off the complicated feelings the past left us.  Like the famous adage “history repeats itself,” millennials are living proof that growth happens, taking our old memories and redefining them in the present.

♓️

Here’s the (nearly) complete Spotify playlist of Thursday’s concert!

I also recorded my nearly all of my favorite songs – my arm did get really tired during AAR’s set.

 

One thought on “+rejects+

Leave a Reply

